Thursday, April 07, 2011

Our 23 Maori MPs

We now have 23 MPs of Maori descent now that Louisa Wall has been sworn in (again).

Just for the record these are the 20 Maori MPs who were elected in 2008.

Paula Bennett, National, Waitakerere; Simon Bridges, National, Tauranga; Aaron Gilmore, National, List; Tau Henare, National, List; Hekia Parata, National, List; Georgina Te Heuheu, National, List; Paul Quinn, National, List.

Parekura Horomia, Labour, Ikaroa Rawhiti (East Coast); Nanaia Mahuta, Labour, Hauraki-Waikato; Kelvin Davis, Labour, List; Shane Jones, Labour, List; Moana Mackey, Labour, List; Mita Ririnui, Labour, list.

In addition, Labour MP Darien Fenton’s mother is Māori , but Fenton does not identify as a Maori MP, nor is she part of Labour’s Māori caucus.

Maori Party
Te Ururoa Flavell, Māori Party, Waiariki ( Bay of Plenty); Hone Harawira, Māori Party, Te Tai Tokerau (Northland); Rahui Katene, Māori Party, Te Tai Tonga ( Wellington and South Island) ; Pita Sharples, Māori Party, Tamariki Makaurau (Auckland); Tariana Turia, Māori Party, Te Tai Hauauru (Western/Central.

Metiria Turei, Green Party, List.

Since the election Hone Harawira has left the Maori Party and is an independent, and three more Maori MPs have been elected: David Clendon, Greens, List (replaced Sue Bradford) Jami-Lee Ross, National Botany, Lousia Wall, Labour , list (replaced Darren Hughes).




Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Powered by Blogger

Clicky Web Analytics